Coconut Rice – Blog Hop 4

I have a perception that most of the Indian food bloggers (settled in India or abroad) are South Indian. My perception can be totally skewed but that’s what I have felt in last 10 months of my association with food blogosphere. So when I started this blog, I was sure that I wouldn’t put try & put recipe of a dosa or idli & pass it off as great. I know for a fact that there are many excellent recipes available for South-Indian cuisine in food world. When I had to choose from Radhika this Wednesday a recipe for Blog Hop I knew it was going to be a South-Indian recipe.

Since, I’m not very familiar with south-Indian cuisine & its nuances I asked Radhika to help me select a rice dish which is authentic South-Indian. She directed me to Coconut Rice. I have not made any major change to the recipe except skipping ground nuts.

Coconut Rice
Coconut Rice

Coconut Rice –

Recipe Source – minimally adapted from Radhika of Tickling Palates

Ingredients –

  • 2 Cups – Cooked Rice
  • 1 Cup – Fresh Grated Coconut
  • 1/2 tsp – Mustard Seeds
  • 1/2 tsp – Urad Dal
  • 2 tsp – Bengal Gram Dal
  • 2 – Green Chillies, slit
  • 2 – Whole Red Chillies
  • 1/2 tsp – Chopped Ginger
  • 8-10 – Roasted Cashewnuts
  • 1 sprig – Curry Leaves
  • a pinch – Asafoetida
  • 2 Tbsp – Coconut Oil
  • to taste – Salt

Method –

  1. Heat oil in a pan. Add mustard seeds, when they splutter add urad dal, bengal gram dal, red chillies, green chillies, ginger & curry leaves. Fry them on low flame. Do not over do them.
  2. Now add asafoetida & coconut. Roast till the kitchen starts filling with aroma of fresh roasted coconut. 🙂
  3. Now add cooked rice & mix well. Add salt. Garnish with roasted cashew nuts.
  4. Serve hot.

I served it with Raw Tomato Dal. It was the yummiest South-Indian dish I made & had. I ate with my fingers, which I rarely do {you see the farang in me ;)}

Coconut Rice
Coconut Rice

It is not usual for us to cook in coconut oil, hence it was a very different & novel taste for us. Also, I’m not a big rice lover, so when I cook rice, it is always an elaborate affair like this one.

Sending Coconut Rice to Flavors of South India by Simply Sensational.

Catch other Blog-Hoppers here to see what they have done for their blog hops. If you wish to join contact Radhika of Tickling Palates. Happy Hopping!!

12 thoughts on “Coconut Rice – Blog Hop 4

  1. Glad you loved it Deepali. I usually serve mine with pappadams next time will try with dal. Thanks for linking.

  2. YES!! this is one of the traditional & popular south indian dish alright!!! And yes…I find majority of south indians on food blog world too!!! And im one of them btw..;) This dish looks flavorful & inviting…
    Prathima Rao
    Prats Corner

  3. Coconut is truly my most fav.”mixed” rice of all and as you know there are a bunch! My kids love it and hubby too and I can make this everyday, if not for the cholesterol factor 🙂 Wonderful choice! Radhika has a number of yummy recipes! rice looks fab!

Leave a comment