Trois – Kitchen & Wine Bar | A Restaurant Review & a Blogger’s Meet

My sincere apologies to Trois & their marketing team at Interface Communications for delay in writing this review. To excuse my lapse I would seek refuge in traveling, buying & shifting into a new house, net- connectivity issues at new place, blah blah… I hope
you get the gist! 🙂

Well nevertheless last 1 month has been hectic and yet exciting for me in every sense of the word!

So coming back to the review. I opened my Inbox & was quite surprised to receive my first ever {hope it is not my last 😉 } restaurant review from Sneh at Interface. A sort of food bloggers/ tweeps/ photographers meet from Pune & Mumbai to review the restaurant & probably know and catch up with each other.

French, eh! Wine, eh!! Fine dine, another big eh! WOW. What will I do there? The first thing I did was to look up the word Trois – means ‘3’ in French.

My closest encounter to French cuisine so far has been Baked Ratatouille, which is an Occitan dish & Eggless Opera Cake which I baked a few weeks back.

So honestly speaking I was clueless about a French menu & was quite expecting to attend french classes to read the menu. 🙂

Trois Restaurant, Pune

Trois is a Wine & Fine Dining French restaurant in one of the premium areas of Pune – Kalyani Nagar. The approach is easy & visibility for new comers is good. It is one of the few restaurants in Pune, which is based on owner-chef model run by Chef Mayur Gadkari. He comes across as a very humble & creative person.

As we walked into the restaurant, I was hit by the perfect ambiance for a cosy evening, candle-light dinner, romance… well, I can’t help! I am a die-hard romantic. psst.. psst… I still read a fair share of romance novels 😉

Trois is housed in a bungalow with glass walls & a tempting bar. Nothing can ever be more inviting! The restaurant is further divided into 4 seating area to enjoy as per the mood – earthy, chic, intimate, relaxed, casual or even old world! A mezzanine floor, terrace with alfresco dining, bar, patio, wine cellar holding roughly 200 bottles!

After a small interactive briefing about the start-up & himself, Chef Mayur Gadkari, took out time from the busy opening night to show us around. Wow, what bliss, walking around with a glass of wine in hand! He pointed out few details like wine bottle lamps, herb garden, wine bottle-shaped platter, etc. Every article there seemed bought, created & used with lot of love & attention to detail – they ‘belonged’ at Trois. A very worthy effort!

Boy, was I impressed!!!

We were served from a pre-decided menu of entrees, mains, dessert & wine, catering to both veg & non-veg preferences. I am a vegetarian & V is a non-vegetarian on occasion.

Entrees included – Veg Pinwheel, Mezze Platter, Pork Belly & Chicken Liver Pate’

Trois Restaurant, Pune

Mains consisted of Slow Roasted Goat Cheese, Pan fried Gnochhi with Walnut, Sage & Cream Sauce, Crispy Salmon on bed of Cabernet Sauvignon Ragu with Walnut & Coriander Pesto, Confit Duck with Dauphinoise Potatoes & Cherry Jus, Lamb Bourguignon

Trois Restaurant, Pune

Dessert was a platter – Chocolate & Pear Tart, Creme Brulee with Lemon Flavoring, Mango Mousse with Pineapple & Chilli Salsa, Chocolate Mousse with Oreo Cookies.

Food was accompanied with White & Red Wine. I prefered the Red Wine, it took the food to a whole new level.

I specially enjoyed the Goat Cheese & would surely love to re-create here. V loved the Lamb. Chocolate Mousse with Oreo was a delectable bite but I felt it was out-of-place in a superb menu – it is more in place at a café or a blogger’s experiment. 🙂

All in all a wonderful evening spent with scintillating wine, amazing food & a most comfortable setting. Kudos to Chef Mayur Gadkari for a remarkable dining experience!

Go ahead Puneites, attack Trois with a vengeance & if you have a partner to impress, don’t look any further!

My only grouse for the evening was too small (both in size & number) helpings spread across roughly 20 mouths. Most of us didn’t get to taste even our preference of veg or non-veg. May be it is the norm of tasting evenings, a mis-management or some other reason. Here is my honest take on Trois based on whatever V & I managed to taste. 🙂

I got to meet fellow bloggers/ food industry related people from both Pune & Mumbai. Every single girl/ woman was in short dress/ skirt & I was in a salwar kameez covered from head to toe, hiding those post pregnancy kilos – I felt my age! God! I’m in my mid-life crisis. 😦 But what the heck, even Aish flaunts & hides her pregnancy flab in Indian ethnic. 😉

My camera didn’t work in such dim lighting & I couldn’t capture much of beautiful dishes presented. May be a day-time event would have shown some mercy on my beloved P&S.

The marketing team for Trois was very accommodating & helpful & allowed V to accompany me for the tasting. Thank you Sneh & team!

Sending this to BWW #89 hosted by Lynne. BWW is an event started by Susan, now managed by Cinzia.

3 thoughts on “Trois – Kitchen & Wine Bar | A Restaurant Review & a Blogger’s Meet

Leave a Reply

