My Food Photography Journey on 2nd Blogversary

Confusion Cook a.k.a CC is 2 years old today. I thought it was time for change, some new beginnings… but will have to wait awhile. To celebrate my journey I’m sharing how I’ve developed my food photography skills in last 2 years as I and You can see a remarkable difference from where I was w.r.t my photos.

Journey 1

Some of you may be familiar with my wishlist about this blog. My interest has developed everyday from baking, to decorating, to styling, to photography, to DIY, to setting-up my studio through this blog. I’m becoming adventurous in everything I do here, the latest which has taken shape very strongly is food photography.

When I started this blog, I took some interest & ended up making friends with Ronit, a food photographer based in Pune. Soon after I took a break & had to restart all over again. This time around, I’ve been reading – practicing, reading – practicing, and reading – practicing almost everyday. I’m reading from styling food, composition, lighting, photography equipment, camera, accessories, must-haves, best buys, tips & experiences, etc etc etc from wherever I can.Journey 2

My Photography Gear  The reason I choose to mention this here is that I am a point & shoot girl, Canon Powershot A710 IS which is 6 years old. I don’t own a dSLR and do not foresee owning one in near future as well, due to constraints, coz I realized it is not just dSLR, I would need to invest in upgraded PC/ laptop, tripod, lenses, image editing software and other accessories. We have just bought our own apartment and similarly experienced flat owners tell me, that first 2-3 years are of frugal living. So I would continue with my P&S for a while.

Along with this, in last 6 months, I have hoarded few scraps of fabric, mats, mount boards, wooden crate, etc. – though clearly I have not been using them wisely or aesthetically yet. I intend to use new apartment perks like leftover tiles and wooden boards as backgrounds. Also it would give me a dedicated space to set-up my studio. All these props require minimal investment from my side. 🙂

Journey 3I came across Nicole S. Young’s Book on Food Photography – From Snapshots to Great Shots and convinced V for buying it for me. Calling it an excellent book is an understatement. I easily get lost in too much technical information, so for me this book was perfect, it is not technical but at the same time, gave me a clear understanding of depth of field, wide aperture, shutter speed etc. I think the biggest reason is having stunning photos depicting each with different settings, so one realises how the change in aperture would change the same photo.

Before reading this book, I had already started working on my lighting which I shared with you here using both natural set-up & lightbox. I had already read my camera manual inside out & was shooting on manual mode. After reading this book, I realized that there were somethings which were bang-on & some totally off! My natural light set-up, against a north facing window, was perfect. Most food bloggers use that but for me it was unintentional, purely matter of chance and availability of space in my tiny apartment. But I was over-exposing my images, I did not know how to use my zoom lens well so there was lot of background noise, I didn’t know what a histogram is and how it will help me take better pictures to start with initially. In short, I can say this book helped me realize full potential of my camera – Yes, a point & shoot also has a lot of potential!Journey 4

This book gave me huge insights about composition, styling, props, etc, which is a subjective influence and needs to be slowly developed and cultivated with lot of trial and error. As I’ve read other famous bloggers & food photographers say that using inspiration develop your own style. I am probably not even on step-1 of this journey but I know I am on the right path.Journey 5

IMG_0261This book also gave detailed instructions of Work-flow or image editing in Lightroom, Photoshop & Photoshop Elements. I sadly have not been able to use this information as I shoot with P&S.

I started observing lot of photos, images and even movies around me after reading this book. A recent status update on my Facebook Page – “Two things I gained from 2.5 hrs of Lincoln – Daniel Day Lewis & Lincoln is all about Chiaroscuro i.e. dark food photography in my food & photography world.”

I was recently told by a professional food photographer cum instructor that my photos are decent and my level is not that basic. It made me feel good & proud. It also made me believe that it’s not just the camera, even a P&S can give good results and there are many more things to photography than just dSLR.

Note: The purpose of sharing my photography journey through my ‘inglorious’ mistakes is to assure nascent photographers like me that there is a learning curve, sometimes one doesn’t know how to apply the knowledge one has, sometimes the gear is not the best – BUT if you persist, you will do better & better results with each click & the journey is continuous.

11 thoughts on “My Food Photography Journey on 2nd Blogversary

  1. Congratulations Deepali on completing 2 years! I totally agree with you. My initial posts have some not so good pictures. But I look at them and be happy that I have improved! Besides, loved your post! Cheers for many more ahead!

  2. Here’s to many more rollicking years ahead ; As long as there is a will to learn and the fire is burning the learning curves will be up and only up – loved reading your post and wishes for success in all your endeavours.

  3. Happy 2nd blogiversary! I’m glad to have discovered your blog, and I can totally identify about having come a long way with food photos, even just being self-taught and learning through lots of trial & error and experience. 🙂

Leave a Reply

