Twice Baked Potatoes & A Kebab Filling

Many a times I wonder why did I name my blog Confusion Cook? And then to re-jog my memory and of my tiddly-piddly followers, I create a recipe which truly in every sense a confusion or amalgamation of tastes, processes and ingredients.

We were planning a Xmas dinner with friends as a pot-luck dinner. I was all ready with my raw ingredients & basic processes, when my little angel decided to cry herself hoarse for the whole day & we had to rush her to a doc when she didn’t let up at all. In the end we had to cancel the dinner and help her calm down and sleep. And I was left with batter of dahi ke kebab, which was ready to be rolled & fried when guests were to come.

I was looking for a baked potato recipe when I came across this recipe which bakes potato twice and I realized that it is quite easy to use my dahi ke kebab batter here. I skipped using the scraped potato back into filling. The batter already had Indian spices so I didn’t add any more as per the recipe.

Twice Baked Potato
Twice Baked Potato

It was a delicious take on potato. It was bit sour, spicy, tangy & really tasty. Baked skin of the potato was an added bonus. The best part was the goodness & richness of potato without the extra calories as I did not use the scooped potato. This is a keeper recipe for me.

Twice Baked Potatoes –

Ingredients –

  • 2 – Potatoes, large
  • 1 tsp – Butter
  • 3 Tbsps – Hung Curd
  • 3 Tbsps – Paneer, grated
  • 1 tsp – Besan
  • 1/2 Tbsp – Fresh Coriander, chopped
  • 1 – Green Chilli, chopped
  • to taste – salt, chaat masala, black pepper

Method –

  1. Pre-heat oven at 190 C. Scrub both the potatoes well. Prick them with fork multiple times.
  2. Bake them on a wire rack for 90 minutes or till tender. Cool the potatoes for 10 minutes.
  3. In the meanwhile, mix all the ingredients except butter in a bowl.
  4. Split the potatoes lengthwise into half. Scoop out the tender potato leaving just little thin shell. Keep aside the scooped potato.
  5. Fill the potato shells with the prepared filling with a heaping mound. Dab little butter on top.
  6. Bake for 15-18 minutes at 190 C. Serve with chopped coriander.

Linking this to –

  1. New ‘U’ 2013 by cooks joy
  2. Bake Fest # 15 by Sumee’s Culinary Bites

One thought on “Twice Baked Potatoes & A Kebab Filling

Leave a Reply

