Eggless Swirled Chocolate Ring Cake (Eggless Marble Cake) | #Pinktober

Pinktober is here! Yes October every year is earmarked as Breast Cancer Awareness Month. For me it’s even more important to associate myself as I’ve seen 2 cases in immediate family on both sides (my husband & my side) in last 2 years fight through Breast Cancer. I had a scare 1 month ago, thankfully it was nothing but just sebaceous glands hardening due to breast-feeding! Thank God for that! When you can’t cure it, early detection is the key to best treatment possible. I am a woman AND now I’m a mother to a daughter, I owe it to her & myself to be aware of & support. This cake is for her & for every girl-child out there. Be Pink, Be Aware!

I was planning to bake this cake for my birthday but ended up making Eggless Pineapple Flower Gateau for blah blah reasons. But so what, here I am with the cake! I like making eggless versions of cake which always do not use condensed milk. This is one such cake which doesn’t call for it. I’ve made this cake many times & all those times, I have not got a single slice to eat. It gets over before I can reach for it. It is a very soft & crumbly cake with excellent taste. To digress a bit, have you sent your entry for the fun food photography contest & a giveaway!

My maternal aunt is a great cook, her food is really spicy & tasty. Getting her to appreciate something is next to impossible. This cake did the impossible. I made & carried over this cake to her place. She loved it so much that she sent her servant to the nearby market to get all the ingredients & asked me to re-make it. Sadly the electricity went off & I couldn’t oblige but next time when I met her, I had to fall in line. 🙂 At the end of my annual visit to my mother’s house, I have to bake & leave this cake behind for my nephew to enjoy it. I can cite many examples of people falling in love with this cake and asking for more & more!

Eggless Chocolate Swirled Cake
Eggless Chocolate Swirled Cake

The only problem I’ve had with this cake is that it breaks on de-moulding every single time I have baked it. This time I baked it in 2 bundt pans (1 mini bundt & another 4 cup bundt). I followed the instruction on Divya’s blog & the de-moulded the smaller one first & it completely fell apart on inverting on the wire rack. Then I decided to experiment by allowing the second cake to cool completely for 3-4 hours in the mould only & then inverted on a plate and not wire rack, it worked partially. The cake was intact but still a small part was left inside the mould. So, I’ve decided to try resting this cake in refrigerator for 1 hour before de-moulding next time. Hope it works then! I would welcome any suggestion or insight into breaking of this cake every time!

It is a great tea-time cake, tastes just awesome & mouth-watering. The 2 V’s in my life reacted quite wonderfully – older V traded dinner for whole mini bundt with a mug full of lukewarm milk & younger V licked of the glaze & left the cake for me. 🙂

Eggless Chocolate Swirled Cake
Eggless Chocolate Swirled Cake

Eggless Swirled Chocolate Ring Cake – I dressed it up a bit with chocolate glaze. I varied the technique of creating the marble effect & replaced some APF with wheat flour.

Recipe Source – loosely adapted from Easycooking

Ingredients –

  • 1 1/4 Cups – APF
  • 1/2 Cup – Wheat Flour
  • 3 Tbsps – Milk powder + 2 Tbsps
  • 2 tsps – Baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp – Baking soda
  • 1/2 cup – Unsalted Butter
  • 3/4 cup – Powdered sugar
  • 3/4 cup – Milk
  • 1 tsp – Vanilla essence
  • 2 Tbsps – Cocoa powder
  • 2 Tbsps – Hot water

Method –

  1. Preheat oven to 170C. Grease a 6 cup Bundt pan or a regular 7′ round/square pan. I used a mini bundt pan & one 2 cup bundt pan
  2. Sift together all dry ingredients – flour, milk powder, baking powder and baking soda, keep aside.
  3. Pour hot water on cocoa powder and mix well to form a paste, allow it to cool.
  4. Cream the butter and sugar till light and fluffy.
  5. Add the flour mix and milk alternately, starting and ending with flour to get a smooth batter.
  6. Add vanilla essence to the batter. Mix again. I added about 2 Tbsps of milk as I felt the batter was quite thick.
  7. Now add chocolate paste to the batter with a spoon & gently swirl with another spoon to make marble effect. Do Not use the same spoon for marbling & also Do Not mix uniformly. Both vanilla & chocolate mixture should show separately as marble effect.
  8. Pour the batter in the prepared pan & bake for 35-40 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. My mini was done in 20 mins & 4 Cups bundt was done in 40 mins.
  9. Cool in the pan for 3-4 hours, then un-mould.

Chocolate Glaze

Ingredients –

  • 2 Tbsps – Milk (or as required)
  • 100 g – Icing Sugar
  • 3 Tbsps – Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
  • 1 tsp – Unsalted Butter

Method –

  1. Sieve the icing sugar & cocoa powder together in a bowl. Once done, stir in softened butter.
  2. Add milk little by little to form a thick paste but still pourable. Slightly warm it in microwave or by resting in a warm water bath for few mins. Remove.
  3. Allow the glaze to stand for a few minutes to give it time to thicken a bit.
  4. Pour over warm cake.

  1. Eggless Chocolate Swirled Cake
    Eggless Chocolate Swirled Cake

    Linking this to What’s with my Cuppa hosted & started by Nupur of UK, Rasoi

2 thoughts on “Eggless Swirled Chocolate Ring Cake (Eggless Marble Cake) | #Pinktober

Leave a Reply

