Jackfruit Veg (Kathal ki Subzi) – Again a mom special

Sundays mean shopping veggies & fruits from nearby ‘bhaazji market’ or ‘subzi mandi’ as known to us North Indians. Staying in Pune for last 4 yrs have made me a punewala (people say so as I’ve started picking local lingo & mannerisms) so it is bhaazi & not subzi.

When on such a Sunday we went shopping early morning with kiddo in car seat, V parked the car just opposite to a cart (thhela) selling fresh pumpkin/ kaddu/ bhopla & Jackfruit/ kathal, he went shopping happily for veggies leaving me & the son to cool our heels in car. They both were so fresh and inviting, I kept looking at them while waiting for V to be back. In some matters V and I have perfect tuning, even he couldn’t miss the fresh fruit cart and asked me would I like to buy them. I jumped at the chance. So now my turn to bargain & haggle for 1/2 kg each of jackfruit & kaddu.

Kathal ki subzi (jackfruit veg)
Kathal ki subzi (jackfruit veg)

In north India, Jackfruit is eaten as vegetable. Only when I came to Pune I got to know that it is mostly eaten here as fruit in summers. I was quite confused – a vegetable eaten as fruit? Well to be honest I’ve never had the courage to try Jackfruit as fruit but was happy to make kathal ki subzi. Everytime I come across a veggie which I’ve eaten at home but haven’t eaten or made it in a long long time, I call my mom. And that’s what I did that day as well. I was super excited to make and eat this veg as it used to be one of my favorites back home but hadn’t come across nice & fresh jackfruit in a long time.

So here goes the recipe which I’ve eaten and loved since childhood.

Kathal ki Subzi (Jackfruit Potato Veg) –

Recipe Source – My mom

Ingredients –

  • 2-3 – Medium Potato
  • 1/2 kg – Jackfruit
  • 2 small – Chopped Tomatoes
  • 1 Tbsp – Ghee/ Oil
  • 1 tsp – Cumin Seeds
  • 2-3 – Chopped Green Chillies
  • 2 tsp – Coriander Powder
  • 2-3 tsp – Dry Mango Powder (amchoor/ khatai)
  • to taste – Salt
  • a pinch – Asafoetida
  • 1 Tbsp – Mustard Oil

Method –

  1. Apply mustard oil liberally on your palms. Now clean the jackfruit. Don’t throw the seeds, remove the thin covering of seeds and then seeds can also be used along with main veg.
  2. Peel & dice potatoes.
  3. Heat ghee in a wok/ pan, add asafoetida, cumin seeds, green chilli, coriander powder & salt. Let it roast for 1-2 mins.
  4. Then add potatoes & jackfruit and allow to cook on slow fire, covered till done.
  5. When the veg is nearly done, add tomatoes & amchoor and stir for 1-2 minutes. Turn off the flame & cover the veg.
  6. Garnish with fresh grated paneer, onion & tomato rings. Serve hot with chappati or phulka.

The trick of adding tomato in the end leaves a very nice look & taste of veggies with very slight crunchy taste of tomatoes. I love this veg. Do try this method & enjoy the subzi.

Sending this recipe to ‘Let’s Cook Series # 6 – Subzis‘ by Radhika of Tickling Palates. My other entry is Okra in Gramflour Gravy. Hop on to her blog for a wonderful round-up.

4 thoughts on “Jackfruit Veg (Kathal ki Subzi) – Again a mom special

  1. I absolutely love this one and I always wait for this spring season when we get fresh kathal. Now, staying in US, we have to do with using canned kathal, which is not the same, but still love it.

Leave a Reply

